Search Site
Menu
Punishment for DUI in Tennessee

What is the punishment for DUI in Nashville, Tennessee?

If you live in Tennessee, you need to know that the punishment for DUI increases with each conviction

Under Tennessee law, the punishment for DUI increases with each DUI conviction. A conviction for DUI always involves a fine and jail time. The statutory punishments for DUI are as follows:

  1. DUI first offense is a Class A Misdemeanor. The minimum punishment is 2 days in jail and a $350 fine; the maximum punishment is 11 months and 29 days in jail and a $1,500 fine;
  2. DUI second offense is a Class A Misdemeanor. The minimum punishment is 45 days in jail and a $600 fine; the maximum is 11 months and 29 days in jail and a $3,500 fine;
  3. DUI third offense is a Class A Misdemeanor. The minimum punishment is 120 days in jail and a $1,100 fine; the maximum is 11 months and 29 days in jail and a $10,000 fine;
  4. DUI fourth or fifth offense is a Class E Felony. The minimum punishment is 150 days in jail and a $3,000 fine; the maximum is the maximum punishment for the applicable range of a Class E Felony and a $1,500 fine;
  5. DUI sixth or subsequent offense is a Class C Felony. The minimum punishment is 150 days in jail and a $3,000 fine; the maximum is the maximum punishment for the applicable range of a Class C Felony and a $15,000 fine.

In addition, conviction of DUI carries a mandatory loss of one’s driver’s license.

Contact us

Quick Contact Form